Points battles red hot going into tonight at Redwood Speedway (August 26th, 2012)


Points battles red hot at the Redhouse

Tonight Redwood Speedway welcomes the Minnesota River Valley Riders ATV Club as a part of the 2nd Annual Nick Warner Memorial. Because of the added time invested in honoring our fallen friend, the IMCA Sprint Cars will have the night off.

Tonight’s races are brought to you by Weltsch Equipment with IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, Outlaw Hobby Stocks, IMCA Sport Compacts and Bombers all on the program. The weather forecast looks great for tonight so come on out and enjoy one of the final few events of the season tonight at the high speed 1/2 mile!

Heading into tonight Danube, MN driver Brandon Beckendorf holds a one point advantage over Curt Lund for the track’s IMCA Modified track championship. Josh Rogotzke currently sits third with Tyler Limoges and Justin Anderson also in the top five, as well.

On the strength of a tremendous season Danube, MN’s own Shaun Bruns currently sits atop in the IMCA Stock Car standings a healthy 36 markers ahead of three time and defending champion, Ken Tietz. Dan Mackenthun sits in the third spot with Bob Rebstock fourth and Jake Bruns fifth.

Consistency has proved to be the name of the game for Swea City, Iowa IMCA Sport Mod ace, Matt Looft. Looft, who owns an 18-point lead over Adam Ecker, has finished no worse than 3rd at Redwood Speedway thus far in 2012. Jordan Meine and Kyle Remus are currently locked in a tie for the third spot while veteran Larry Revier rounds out the top five.

One of the tightest points races ever witnessed in Redwood Speedway history is right now taking place in the Outlaw Hobby Stock division with just two points nights remaining. Sleepy Eye’s Randy Fischer, on the strength of consistency all season, holds a one marker advantage over Jayson Firle of Fairfax. Clements, MN ace Dan Veenstra is just two points back of Fischer while fourth place running Ryan McMullen is just four points back. Andy Windschitl still has a chance to make something happen as well during the final two weeks as he sits a mere 12 points out in 5th.

Due to the IMCA Hobby Stocks getting underway at Boone Speedway next Sunday/Monday, tonight with be there final points race of the 2012 season. Barring tragedy New Ulm’s Chris Isaacson will be crowned your 2012 IMCA Hobby Stock track champion. The battle for second, however, is still a good one. Last year’s Champion Wes Jahnz holds a five point lead over Josh Telecky for the second spot with Brennen Boettger and Trevor Serbus members of the top five, as well. Good luck to all the Hobby Stocks heading down to Boone to try their luck at the IMCA SuperNationals!

The husband and wife duo of Aaron and Nikkya Betz currently sit atop the point standings in the IMCA Sport Compact division. Aaron leads Nikkya by 19 points with two events remaining while defending National champion Nate Coopman remains within striking distance in third. Ben Wilhelmi and Stephanie Forsberg round out the top five for the Sport Compacts, who have put on some tremendous events this season.

With two events remaining Frank Billmeier holds a seven point advantage over veteran Monte Heiderscheidt in the battle for the Bomber hardware. Billmeier has been strong all season long, it will interesting to see how this one plays out with the veteran Heiderscheidt within striking distance. Matt Olson, Nathan Gegner and second generation racer Nic Heiderscheidt are all members of the current top five for the Bombers, who have had the fans on their feet several times throughout the 2012 season.

Last but not least the IMCA Sprint Cars will put a cap on their season next Sunday night at Redwood Speedway. In what will prove to be a nerve racking night for the two parties involved, Mike Stien and Cam Schafer are all square with 274 points a piece heading into the final evening (9/02/2012). Come on out to see who will be crowned champion in 2012. Current IMCA Sprint Car National Rookie of the Year points leader Reed Allex sits in the third spot ahead of Curt Lund and Bruce Allen.

The folks at Redwood Speedway would like to thank all the fans, pit crew members, sponsors and drivers that have made the 2012 season a great one. We look forward to seeing each and every one of you tonight at the Redwood County Fairgrounds, 5:30 start time!

Leave Your Comments

To add a gravitar, click here!